Many Thanks…

October 9, 2009

to all the generous listeners who give this project a chance. I was a bit overwhelmed on Wednesday night when I checked my blog to see so many comments from people I didn’t know! Thank you to Pop Candy for kindly mentioning the blog. I told my husband how many hits the blog got that day and he said “You’ll have to start taking this more seriously, now.” ??? Well, I am taking it seriously. I wouldn’t have made such a commitment of time to this project if it didn’t matter to me. Husbands…

F.Y.I., although I appreciate the requests, I’m not in a position to distribute mp3s of these songs. I don’t even think I’m supposed to be recording them. But, my intention is to play music for anyone who wants to listen, like friends in your very big living room, sitting at the piano. This is a personal exercise for me, learning songs by ear, studying song arrangement and lyric writing, becoming a better player. I’m digging into a record that I listened to so much all my life, and yet, I didn’t really know it well at all. I don’t mean to sound self-deprecating on this blog. I know that’s not very sexy. It’s just that I realize that The Beatles are a really important band to many people and these songs carry a lot of weight too. I set a lofty goal for myself (shouldn’t we all?) and I’m aware of my limitations. But, as the project continues, I hope those limitations become less apparent. It’s encouraging to read the comments from everyone. Thank you , thank you.

Happy Birthday John Lennon.

9 Responses to “Many Thanks…”

  1. Paavo Says:

    SUPER !

  2. Lennart Weimar Says:

    Dear Deanne!
    I´m a swedish beatlemaniac who listned to all their songs 1000 of times. I found out about your project through a major swedish newspaper.I have listen to your three song. They sound great, great voice and good rhythm.Best of luck, see how Helter Skelter comes out!
    Now back to the Beatles Rockband together with my son.

    • dmiovan Says:

      Thanks! That’s quite a compliment. What paper did you read about this? I’m intrigued.

      • Jan Hägglöf Says:

        I read it too in the swedish daily Svenska Dagbladet. Otherwise I wouldn’t have experienced this. Nice job, and very good, human attitude from You!

  3. Tal Says:

    How to cover Revolution #9..?

    • dmiovan Says:

      That’s going to be interesting. By the way, Spotify doesn’t seem to work in the U.S. so I can’t access the link. Care to share?

  4. Tal Says:

    Here’s a link to a presentation of the album in question: http://bendirecords.com/?sida=disc&id=BEN-CD-020

  5. Tal Says:

    The Thurston Lava Tube (a psychedelic, experimental surf instrumental band from Leicester, England), have also covered Revolution #9. It’s on the album Me Ka Nahuku (2007) along with several other Beatles (and Zappa!) covers. It’s on Spotify for those that can access it!

  6. Bass Says:

    I’ve gotta say, this is quite the undertaking, and I wish you the best of luck as time goes on.

    I just thought I’d like to let you know that I’m almost certain that releasing covers of songs is perfectly within the limits of “fair use” as long as the original artist is attributed and they are being distributed for free, and not for profit.

    I only say this because I am yet another person who would love to carry your music with them on a regular basis.


Leave a comment