Tambourine Project #2

April 2, 2011

The E.N.D. Tambourine Project presents the second installation of musical collaborations for your listening pleasure. This time I worked with my old bandmate, Bryan Foreman, an affable guitar player and good friend. He had an idea for a sweet little chord progression that he wanted to write a song around, so he passed it along to me and the fun began. The song he wrote – “T. Rex, I Love You” – totally rocks. I get the song stuck in my head and it makes me want to shimmy-shake!

Bryan and I co-wrote two songs in this very same fashion on the last Come Ons cd Stars. Bryan had some ideas for two songs so he gave me a cassette with a home recording on it. I proceeded to destroy both songs (I am Deanne the Destroyer, afterall) and then rebuild them again with somber, melodramatic song lyrics.

Since I’ve launched this new musical project, my dear old friend Patrick told me about something Esquire magazine is producing where a handful of song writers (all men, by the way) get together and write songs around a specific lyric line. I don’t know who comes up with the initial idea, but the first one is called “Somewhere in Missisippi.” Here’s a link to the video.

So the moral of the story is, no matter how special or interesting you think your ideas are, all over the planet, many people are having the same idea as you.

The next Esquire production is supposed to have Detroit songwriters (I think they’re all boys too) write a song around the lyric “Bury Me in Detroit.” I heard that Brendan Benson and Ben Blackwell were appointed to write songs for this project. I look forward to hearing what they come up with and if I find a link, I will post it here.

It’s officially Spring now. Play ball!

T Rex I Love You

Pepper Sand

2 Responses to “Tambourine Project #2”

  1. jennyb Says:

    love these!
    excellent word, too, affable.
    🙂 spring is here and in these tunes too.
    thank you so sharing!

  2. Bryan Says:

    It’s always a pleasure making music with Deanne the Destroyer!

    When I was working on these chords, and later the lyrics, I heard Marc Bolan singing in my head. I couldn’t quite get out the T.Rex song I was imagining, but this sounds like a suitable tribute to one of my favorites. I do love T.Rex.

    And I’m really digging Pepper Sand – fantastic lyrics, Deanne! This was a lot of fun, thanks again.

    Bryan


Leave a Reply

