Paul McCartney

July 29, 2010

Did anyone see the PBS special where Paul McCartney was honored by President Obama with the Gershwin Prize for Popular song? I only saw about a half hour of it and it was great! I don’t have tivo or a dvr, but I checked out Jack White on youtube and he did Mother Nature’s Son from The White Album! Here it is if you want to check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BXV1_D5eXA

I’m sure you can find other artist’s performances on youtube as well. I thought the whole thing was very cool and I liked seeing Emmylou Harris and Elvis Costello and Dave Grohl. I love Stevie Wonder and he was the only one grooving and singing along to Band On The Run. Everyone else in the audience acted like they were at an opera…very well dressed and stiff. Can I say that I don’t like Ebony and Ivory? I know it was a huge hit but it’s sort of goofy.

Speaking of goofy, I’m working on a country song. I haven’t finished writing it so I can’t record it yet, so I’ve got nothing to post this week. I know it’s been a few weeks, but Jim and I have been working on refining digital versions of 15 of the Every Nine Days White Album songs so I can post them on itunes. I’m still waiting to clear licensing on a couple of George Harrison songs, then off they will go into download cyberspace! I picked 15 of what I thought were the songs I performed the best, not necessarily my favorite songs. A few needed some tweaking. I don’t mind posting songs on my blog that are a little sloppy but I couldn’t justify selling them with glaring mistakes (ie. “soap confection”). I will send out a post when all this comes to fruition. Cheers!

4 Responses to “Paul McCartney”

  1. Matt Blick Says:

    Ebony & Ivory goofy? Amen. Goofy and cheesy!

    Thanks for the link will check it out.

  2. Matt Blick Says:

    just did – only works in the States – dang!

  3. jenny barbour Says:

    yay! we will have an easier way to share you! people less often go to blogs i find. strange virus’ lurking about. youtube is adventure enough for some folks. hope you are taking MY favorites first! 🙂 i did go to the obama honors to sir paul and saw some of the music too. the lad you sent the link for was a young faint voiced paul-ite himself. and i never liked ebony and ivory either. contrived and obvious, much beneath our beattle boy. for a while i thought less of him for that effort. but it was in his linda days so some sentimentality if only in leaving those treasured memories more honored than less. nice summer rain this evening. used to be we had one to cool us every evening in summer. finally this year they are returned. time to change and time to stay the same. with you and your covers. looking forward and back with you! o’s 🙂 j


Leave a Reply

