Goodnight

June 7, 2010

I feel like my band just broke up.

I had to wait until the last minute to post this mostly because I’m just so sad that it’s over. I also waited until tonight to record the song, putting it off, finding other things to do. I had a hard time concentrating. Maybe I’m thinking too much about what to do next…?

I love Goodnight and I love Ringo singing it. Oh! It’s so good! I think it’s the best song on the record. So simple and sweet. Perfect.

In the nine months since September 9, 2009, I’ve recorded these songs hoping to connect my lifelong love for this record with my desire to play and write music. Unfortunately, I never learned how to properly play the guitar and my piano playing didn’t improve much. I think it may have gotten worse today even! I think I got better on the drums. But I’ll never be a professional harmonica player, just in case you were thinking of hiring me for your next record. I did get inspired daily and I kicked my own butt to work on music when I didn’t feel like it. That’s the best thing about this idea. It made me follow through. Good blog, nice blog. Those are very good things. I’m thinking of keeping the blog alive and still recording a song every nine days, just like now only maybe I’ll write some of them myself or record covers other than The Beatles. Maybe an Irving Berlin song! Or maybe I’ll write a pop dance hit like Lady Gaga. Suggestions for covers? Topics for originals? Anyone?

Maybe I should just get a job.

Thank you, to all who listened.
Goodnight.
Everyone.

18 Responses to “Goodnight”

  1. Frank Schnyder Says:

    Don’t be sad. I hope you throw a party. This was a great achievement – something to show all your friends and also people interested in doing music with you in the future. …and if you keep it up, well, damn! You could be “that chick that records a song every nine days!”

    Thanks for such a great project to watch!

    By the way, I think you should do an Irving Berlin song in the style of Lady Gaga.

  2. jenny barbour Says:

    hmmm! I will have to ponder maybe I shouldn’t answer so late. but I am
    glad to see you in the in box and glad a shadow of chance that there will be more! showtunes no please. anything current? citizen cope is a soothing music dreamy… oh time for sleep. I must go dream for real. xo’s! jennyb

  3. Matt Blick Says:

    You did it!

    An amazing accomplishment, when the internet is littered with half finished grand projects.

    I’d like to hear you do some of your own songs and hear if/how much the Beatles have rubbed off on your own writing. That’s pretty much what I’m hoping with my own blog.

  4. Rich Says:

    What a great ride. Thank you for sharing your music with us. For the simple act of following through, many people can’t even get there (myself included).

    I’d love me some Gaga!

  5. lisa Says:

    Congrats D!!!
    What a great accomplishment. I too, would be sad if this blog went away so I hope you keep it going with your own music, your lovely voice, and your great stories.


  6. Deanne, I am sad this is over also! I urge you to keep up with the songs – I have really enjoyed listening. The last song you did, you should make a recording and send it to Eloise! Wouldn’t that be a wonderful way for her to go to sleep every night.
    See you soon!
    Love!!

  7. aaron Says:

    that was really great, congrats on finishing the project!

  8. King Elessar 8 Says:

    Beautiful finish. Once again, better than the the (over-orchestrated) original. You do sound very sad, which gives the song a completely different and interesting twist. You should be extremely proud you actually finished this, it was a great idea very well executed. I really enjoyed following along, every nine days.

    And I also vote for original songs. Or giving the Nine Days treatment to “Songs in the Key of Life”. Heh.

  9. Tal Says:

    Comment 9
    Can you believe it!? I had totally forgotten there was anything on The White Album after Revolution 9! Really? I can’t remember ever hearing this one. Strange…
    Anyways, pls keep going is some way or another!

  10. Jo (and Justyn) Says:

    I can’t believe this is finished, I’ve been marking time with it, and have so enjoyed listening to your voice and arrangements, including this very restful and beautiful last one. I think it’s a fantastic thing you’ve done, and it’s also made me re-appreciate the White Album. I too hope you can keep something going, please!

  11. Basskitteh Says:

    The only thing I can say at this point is thank you. For sharing this wonderful project with us.
    You are a wonderfully talented musician that I can only hope to be a fraction of.
    Congratulations.

  12. Steve Says:

    Brilliant. Hugely enjoyable from start to finish and quite an achievement to make it so like the original, but with a charm and character all of its own.

  13. Steve Says:

    Not just this song – the entire album, I meant.

  14. Jarod Facknitz Says:

    Lovely.

  15. lvmojomom Says:

    What a wonderful job you did on this project!
    I just recently stumbled on to it and really enjoyed it. Beautiful voice and beautiful talent. I hope you will keep the blog going in some fashion doing covers and writing your own stuff too.
    The White Album has always been in my top 5 fave albums, what an amazing variety of style and depth it has. You have really brought that out in your covers.
    But I do think u are way too hard on yourself. Give yourself some credit and take a bow.

  16. cinnyc Says:

    Feel like the dork who got bad directions and arrived late to the party, but now that I’m here allow me to say you’ve done a fantastic thing here! love the sincerity of these postcards to the Beatles. would you mind losing your current job and taking a stab at Pepper?;)

    • dmiovan Says:

      Thanks for listening! I don’t think I’m ready to tackle SPLHCB yet, but thanks for the confidence! Although, that was one of the first records I ever bought (along with Rubber Soul and Yesterday & Today). I roller skated in my basement for hours, round and round, listening to it’s freaky sounds.


Leave a Reply

