Cry Baby Cry

May 20, 2010

Nearing the end of this project is a little sad. I’m not sure what to do with this blog once it’s over. Can you delete a blog? Maybe I’ll just redirect traffic to something else, like this. But with the weather changing in Michigan, I’m looking forward to spending more time gardening and chilling on my lawn chair, sipping limeaid with my cat. Maybe I’ll write some new songs.

I’m so irritated with trying to play the guitar. Thanks must be given to my friend and former band mate Bryan for generously loaning me his lovely acoustic guitar for the last 7 months. However, I’ve decided that I will never be able to play this instrument and I can accept that. I think Jim will also appreciate not having to mix these songs for me every nine days…bless his little heart.

I don’t know what this song is about and I don’t think anyone really does. I’m just glad I don’t have a crying baby. It’s all singing, non-stop like a folk song and it’s repetition started to bug me a little – mostly because I didn’t know what I was singing about. But I like the Paul McCartney tag at the end better than the song. I don’t know how, but Jim always manages to make the cr*p that I record sound much better than I ever imagine it could. You should all be grateful to him. It could be so much worse.

Now, on to the pièce de résistance of the White Album. It’s going to take me all week to figure out how I’m going to put Revolution 9 together. I guess we’ll all find out in nine days.

8 Responses to “Cry Baby Cry”

  1. Bass Says:

    I personally think you should keep this up just an archive of your achievement.

    I’m really looking forward to hear what you’re going to do with Revolution 9. From what I’ve heard so far, I’m sure it’ll be wonderful.

  2. jenny barbour Says:

    hey d…

    well, if wiki doesn’t know what the heck something is, why should we?: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cry_Baby_Cry

    anyway, i am a continuing disappointment to you.
    i like this one too. regardless of beckoning of lawn chair, i wish you would dovetail another album onto this one… some other favorite or other. and i agree with old “bass” before me, would be a shame not to archive block in a place where we can all come back and visit your work and your musings.
    re: jim mixing you, i say, there is a reason mixing was invented, it makes everyone sound like they would like better to… like a doctored up photo finish. only one where you get to have your hair all done and not a sweat bead in sight.

    keep on keeping on. in summer will want coordinating garden selection flower pix. 🙂 peace and sleep well. your music i like, your voice, and the acoustic guitar too. 🙂 xo

  3. King Elessar 8 Says:

    The song is probably (much like “Lucy in the Sky” and to a lesser extent “I am the Walrus”) meant to be a Lewis Carroll homage, done in one of John’s favorite formats, the lullaby. I guess he hated it (or said so later at least) but I like it, particularly the curiously eerie turn it takes with the children’s voices in the dark.

    And don’t take this site down! I have really enjoyed listening to your interpretations of these songs. I’d like to be able to revisit it when the mood strikes. Maybe you could do another Beatles album, or a different artist entirely?

  4. jenny barbour Says:

    and i learn so from your informed and thoughtful fellows. thanks king.

  5. Frank Schnyder Says:

    This blog has been just great. Just update it once in a while with stuff about how music relates to your life. No need to be as consistent (every nine days and all), but when you have something significant…why not share it?

    Been looking forward to your Rev 9 for some time. Doubt anyone’s ever covered it. You’ll have to work closely with Jim on this, though, because it was all in the mixing – lots of loops fading in and out. Go through some sound effect libraries and find ones you like (there may be free ones online now but it’s been a while since I’ve looked). At least the lyrics are easy!

  6. jenny barbour Says:

    yes and don’t forget it has to say something even when played backwards on an olde-timey turntable…

  7. Mark Dominus Says:

    I’m really glad you didn’t delete this blog, because Spotify only has half your tracks, and I was very glad to be able to hear the other half. I love your voice, and I think your version of Revolution 9 is amazing. I like your version of Glass Onion much better than the original.

    Thanks very much for doing this project.


Leave a Reply

