Savoy Truffle

May 11, 2010

I can’t believe that I forgot to mention in the last blog entry that Honey Pie was my favorite song on the White Album when I was a little squirt. I used to put on my mom’s too-big, strappy silver sandals and pretend that I was tap dancing in the hallway next to the bathroom – it was the only floor that didn’t have carpeting on it and it made my feet sound like “click-clack,click-clack”. Maybe I got the old-timey, vaudevillian bug in my blood back then. The song is still a favorite from the record.

Once again, I’m a last minute Lucy. I have to admit that I didn’t even attempt Savoy Truffle until last night when I started to record. I also had no idea what I was going to do with it. Ever throw something together at the last minute and come away with a result that’s not embarrassing? It’s a rare occasion for me and I suppose I shouldn’t reveal my trade secrets, but maybe it means I’m getting more comfortable with myself and these songs? Only 242 days into the project, but whose counting?

Contrary to recent commentary, this is not a Casio tribute blog. I swear! However, I dusted off the ol’ Casiotone MT-400 for this song because it had way better organ sounds than the cheesy Kurzweil keyboard samples I used on Martha My Dear. I love the Casiotone, maybe more than the SK-1. I used it on Piggies with crowd pleasing results. I love the sound of this George Harrison song. The horns and the slap-back on the drums are so groovy. But I knew I couldn’t possibly replicate that sound so I did what I know how to do: noodle on the Casio.

From what I know about this song, it was inspired by Eric Clapton’s sweet tooth. Who’d a thought I’d have something in common with him? I don’t have a clue as to what “montelimat” is but I think that Pinwheel Bakery should come up with a sweet treat and call it that. I do love sweet treats but I know sugar makes me feel lousy in the head, probably because I can’t stop eating it once I start. Some people can function quite well on loads of sugar but it makes me sleepy and stupid. A bit like alcohol. But we won’t get into that.

3 Responses to “Savoy Truffle”

  1. jennyb Says:

    YOU ARE to be doomed to playing by the seat of your pants…
    this is scrumtious… how is it that music sweet can come at a last minute. you are definitely channeling george…
    thank goodness. a new ear candy !

  2. Jim Warner Says:

    Sugar does that to me too!

    A bad trip happens when cookies speak to my pancreas.

  3. Bass Says:

    I’ve always thought it was “Montelimar,” a city France where nougat is made.

    And for having only, what, two days of practice I have to admit this is very, very solid. Keep up the good work. 🙂


Leave a Reply

