Helter Skelter

April 5, 2010

When I was a child, there were two songs that frightened me. One was Whole Lotta Love by Led Zepplin and the other was Helter Skelter by The Beatles. I never would have thought Paul McCartney could write a song that scared me so, but he did. Now that I am an adult and a musician, I think this song is great fun to play! Holy cow! I could’ve layered noisy guitars for days. This song must have been the inspiration for the Jesus and Mary Chain.

Now, imagine Ann Margaret or Nancy Sinatra recording a rock record in 1969, if you will. Imagine the producer saying, “You’re going to sing Helter Skelter on this one. It’s crazy! The kids’ll love it!”

Wouldn’t that be great?!?!

This is the version of Helter Skelter that I have recorded. As any reader of this blog knows, I am not a rock singer nor a belter of any kind. Contrary to my usual blather, I’m not going to apologize for that either. Because today, I am a genius. I think I came up with the perfect way for me to perform it. If you don’t like it, I feel sorry for you.

Have a nice day.

11 Responses to “Helter Skelter”

  1. Tal Says:

    Ha ha ha!
    Great! Genius is the word!

  2. Matt Blick Says:

    Very nice, you carried it off well and I’m so glad you included the Ringo line at the end!

  3. Jawbone Says:

    i dig that hel-ter-skel-ter. Can’t play it for the kids, tho.

  4. jack Says:

    sexy sexy!

  5. Overhype Says:

    You nailed it! I had to smile when the track faded back in and as the drums started breaking down. Great job, whoever you are! 🙂

  6. Astro Boy Says:

    Great stuff! This was one of the songs I was waiting for!!

  7. aaron Says:

    wow, scarier than the original!

  8. Tony Says:

    Hi!
    This is one of my favourite songs and you did a pretty good, different, version of it

  9. King Elessar 8 Says:

    Hahaha. Dig that sound man.

    This is your hit single, right here. Love it. I can totally see it in a Tarantino film.

  10. Eric Says:

    Hey Auntie D I dig the song good job!

  11. Jim Warner Says:

    This song is now safely in your cage… Still scary as aaron says (but not really).
    You tamed it while keeping it a bit naughty.
    Nice.

    Dorothy Thompson(famous in the 1930’s)said
    “The most destructive element in the human mind is fear. Fear creates aggressiveness.”

    Tea Party anyone?

    Manson family anyone?


Leave a Reply

