Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me and My Monkey

March 18, 2010

I know I’m a little naive about many things. I hope this means that I like to see good in the world until something proves itself not to be. I always thought of John Lennon, especially in his later Yoko Ono days, as being a peace-loving hippie. Hippies love drugs, right? But I think more along the lines of innocuous drugs like pot and hallucinogenic mushrooms. I always thought this song was about him and Yoko, people hating on her and her being around ALL the time. People in love can be really annoying to those that are not, and when you have a band and someone in the band is in love and their love is, how you say, over-flowing, friction is inevitable. I won’t say anything more on the subject.

Then I read that this song is a reference to John Lennon’s heroin addiction. “Monkey on my back” is supposedly some allusion to drug addiction. Am I the only person in the universe that didn’t know that John Lennon was a junkie? Probably not, but it’s a great song regardless of what it’s about.

Now, the recording…

This song is a perfect example of what’s great about getting in a room with three other people and playing a song together. You know, I thought that Happiness is a Warm Gun was complicated. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me and My Monkey is ridiculous. And I say that of course, because I had difficulty with it. If I was smart enough to write out a chart for the song it would have been much easier. If I was taking drugs it may have made more sense to me. If I was playing it at the same time with three other people and we were all cueing each other, it would have been a better performance. I call this song the Frankenstein of the White Album Project. All I can say is, thank Digidesign for Pro Tools, because I had to piece this monstrosity together. The drums were the easy part. One take all the way through. It’s all the other stuff on top I couldn’t wrap my brain around. I played parts off time. I played parts wrong. I played out of tune. I changed the key so I wouldn’t shout, then I had regrets about that because it sounded less exciting. I’m glad it’s over, but I would love to play this again with a band. Anyone?

5 Responses to “Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me and My Monkey”

  1. Matt Blick Says:

    I like what you’ve done with the high guitar part it’s different from the original and makes the song sound a bit madder, like japanese manga pop!

  2. jenny barbour Says:

    i love “japanese manga pop”. no idea what it means!

    i think you did unique and well; i think singing it high on heroin is the only part missing.

    i sort of thought that yoko and john and their drugs were what got to the band… so you are not naive, just kind, and young so missed some press at the time. 🙂

  3. Frank Schnyder Says:

    I’ll play it with you, but you’d have to change it back to the original key. (Not that it matters to me – I’m a drummer. I just want to hear you shout!)

  4. King Elessar 8 Says:

    I’d would be quite happy to play this song with you (I play piano/keyboards), but getting together seems a rather difficult task!

    And I think I recall this song was actually inspired by various things the Maharishi said. I know the “Come on come on” (the original title of the song) part was.

  5. King Elessar 8 Says:

    I need to proofread my posts a little more carefully. “I’d would”. Yeesh.


Leave a Reply

