Yer Blues

February 28, 2010

I’ve spent a lot of time at the hospital this week, visiting my uncle. He fell and cracked a rib and his face. He looks like a real tough Irishman now, black eye and all. It’s a drag to be in the hospital, not for me because I can leave, but for him. You go in for one thing and they keep you there for something else. I suppose it’s fortuitous that he fell when he did. They said he’s got a blockage in his artery which they wouldn’t have found had he not tumbled into the flower pots at the Venetian Club. He doesn’t have kids so I’ve been visiting everyday, bringing him magazines to pass the time and smoothies from Starbucks to fill his belly. Hospital food is rather bad and he can’t chew food right now. People tell me I’m so kind for looking after him, but he’s always been very kind and generous to me. I think he’s earned it. Aside from that, he’s alone. Who wants to be alone in the hospital?

Here’s a picture of Uncle Ed with Brenda Lee from a convention in Nashville in 1986:

That brings me to the 19th song of this 9th day, 172 days into the White Album project, Yer Blues. I think it’s a great song and tons of fun to play. Especially the drums. Although I don’t do the blues shuffle very well…I think you have to be born with it in your feet. I changed the key so I wouldn’t be shouting and screeching my way through the verses. I also simplified the guitar parts since I’m a whack guitar player. I’ve realized through this project that it’s easier for me to play or connect with John Lennon songs more so than Paul McCartney songs. Who knew? I’ve a newfound appreciation for John Lennon too. I mean, let’s just say, they both are/were ridiculously amazing song writers. Damn! I love this project!!! Even though it’s hard to find the time to do this, and sometimes I’d really rather sleep-in than get up and work on music while Jim is in the shower or eating cereal. I steal whatever time I can to practice and record and try to fit it in between Jim’s work schedule and visiting all the seniors in my life. I’ve been applying for jobs every week since I’ve been unemployed, but I don’t think I have time for one…!

3 Responses to “Yer Blues”

  1. King Elessar 8 Says:

    Wow, love the vocal here. Good idea to change the key, it helps make it feel like “your” song.

    Sorry about your Uncle, hope he makes a speedy recovery.

  2. Jo Says:

    Ah, finally I have a PC with working speakers…I have a lot of catching up to do on your project. I love this one, and am looking forward to listening to the ones I’ve missed! I hope your uncle is back on his feet soon.

  3. jenny barbour Says:

    love your version of this miss d.

    hope family all better… o’s


Leave a Reply

