Why Don’t We Do It In The Road?

January 23, 2010

Ok. This is a silly song. Perhaps a silly love song? But it’s exactly as long as it should be – 1:42, as opposed to Ringo’s simple song that was way too long (3:42). I’m half way through my project and I have 4 1/2 months to go. I’m looking forward to recording I Will and Helter Skelter and Savoy Truffle. But this song, I don’t mean to sound like I’m making excuses, didn’t give me much to work with. I don’t sing in a deep growly, bluesy voice. I tried to belt it out and it sounded silly and affected. So I layered on 6 tracks of vocals and had them panned every which way.  That didn’t help much. I need to find a job.

I saw video clips of Sir Paul at the Golden Globes this week. There is speculation in the entertainment news that he’s going to get married again. Who cares, right? It seems his fans are very concerned about his finances and fiances, considering that he was taken to the cleaners by the last wife. The guy is obviously a hopeless romantic, and by the sound of this song, maybe kind of a horny monkey too. He wrote all the beloved sweet and sappy Beatles songs, after all. Though I wonder why people feel like they need to get married at his age. It’s not as though either of them need the financial security or health insurance. Maybe they need a new set of china.

I was on the fence for many years about marriage. Considering that I didn’t want to have children it seemed unnecessary. I was never that girl that fantasized about a fluffy white wedding gown and flower bouquets and 20 bridesmaids. I always felt that big wedding shebangies were a waste, but they sure can be fun when you’re a guest standing at that open bar… Who wants to do the chicken dance? How many people do I know that have spent thousands of dollars on a wedding for a marriage that didn’t last? Too many. Last count, I have 3 divorced siblings. It’s amazing that I’m not cynical about marriage in spite of the fact that I didn’t have good role models growing up and it could have gone the other way. All I can say is, my commitment to Jim is the same now as it was before we got married, even if I did keep my last name. (Mom!) Although, I’ve noticed that he seems to behave differently since we’ve made it legal and I can’t exactly put my finger on it, but it’s a good different. I do love the little bugger, but ultimately I trust Jim more than anyone I’ve ever known. So if I’m lucky enough to grow old with him, or unlucky enough to get sick, or lose my legs or my eyesight, I know he’ll take care of me. He’s a good man.

My friend Mike sent this link to me a few weeks ago. When it comes to simple songs about love, I might have to say I like this song best:

Trust

8 Responses to “Why Don’t We Do It In The Road?”

  1. Jarod Says:

    Loving what I’m hearing. This is my favroite blog, thus far.

  2. King Elessar 8 Says:

    Considering that the material isn’t a good fit for your voice that wasn’t bad at all.

  3. jennybarbour Says:

    holy moly! it’s the ‘i trusted you’ chicken dance!! 🙂

    oh, my take on marriage is about lots of things… not that anyone is asking. (for my opine)… but one’s husband or wife should know you well enough to make those critical and often merciful end life decisions, care choices, hospitals admit them. insurance follows these practical attachments. simply said: marriage and the power of two can ward off poverty, the ism’s of: depression, fear, crazy; but it can cause those too.

    i think that marriage has been reduced to a way into a lawsuit, and we are all (including myself) a bit jaded.

    marriage used to do what a good will could do. and in some states it overrules a will. it is a complicated business for sure.

    though i add to your divorce count for relatives (wah hah!) i have to say, little as we know each other, i am glad to have you in the fold. and i am glad that jimmy, jim has you at his side. whatever name you call yourself. (aunt jen!!) maybe even the children we raise in our homes are only ourselves and each other. there is something to making a promise, that says yes, way after a honeymoon. yes? 🙂 love you d.

  4. Timmy Says:

    I’ve always wanted to do it in the road…..but everyone will be watching us!!!LOVE YOU SIS, T

  5. elmegil Says:

    Regarding “horny monkey”…”All signs point to yes” 😀 I can’t say I’ve read a history yet that doesn’t make at least some passing reference to Sir Paul’s appetites.

  6. fakename Says:

    is there any way to download these as mp3s? i’d really like to listen to them away from the computer….

    • dmiovan Says:

      I don’t have MP3s for download. I have no idea if they can be snagged from the blog either. I’m not computer savvy.


Leave a Reply

