Don’t Pass Me By

January 14, 2010

I like this song by Ringo. It’s very simple and I like it’s country blues feel, although, I think it’s about 1 minute longer than it needs to be – especially my version, since I didn’t play fiddle on it. Honestly, I attempted to play acoustic guitar, electric guitar, casio violin, harmonica and whistling in place of the violin on this song. They all sounded terrible. I’m just not a solo-ing kind of girl. I think that requires a particular personality. Maybe lessons would help too…I tried to add a second drum kit, playing loud distorted fills. Stupid. I had more time to work on Don’t Pass Me By since Jim was at the Tempermill all week recording Jeremy Spencer. Unfortunately, more time did not produce amazing results, but I tried! I did add some backing vocals that I thought the song was just begging for and tried to channel Harry Nilsson for that task. Considering that Ringo was a friend of Nilsson and played drums on his recordings it seemed fitting. Coincidentally, as I write this I’m watching The Daily Show Wednesday night and Ringo Starr is John Stewart’s guest, playing with Ben Harper and Relentless 7. He played a new song called Walk With You from his new cd Y Not, then he performed A Little Help From My Friends from Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band. I just love his voice. I know it’s getting tired and crunchy but he is going to be 70 this year, after all. I hope I’m still singing at 70 if I’m still alive. Maybe not Beatles songs like Ringo, but my own songs. A handsome frenchman once suggested that this project should inspire me to write some songs that The Beatles didn’t write for the White Album. I can’t imagine yet what those might sound like, but I thought it a generous suggestion. It’s great when others have faith in you. It helps you to see it in yourself.

8 Responses to “Don’t Pass Me By”

  1. patty Says:

    Deanne….you did a great job on that!
    I loved it. But, Hey… 70 doesn’t
    really seem THAT old…does it?
    Love, patty

    • dmiovan Says:

      no. 70 is not THAT old, but when you sing, you notice the difference as you age. Especially if you are/were a smoker or drinker. You’re as young as you feel!

  2. King Elessar 8 Says:

    I love Ringo, but this song is… well I won’t say anything more. Given the material you did about the best you could with it, and you do a particularly good job with the vocals.

    The next song should be interesting.

    • dmiovan Says:

      Thank you. Interesting yes. We’ll see. I know what you are saying. I just didn’t want to be the one to say it…

  3. Smiley Says:

    Deanne
    I was turned on to this site from a good friend of mine Jim boyle and I have to say I love. I count down the days for you next release. I’m a huge Beatles fan and think your take on the song have been fantastic. Keep up the good work and I look forward to next 9 days.

    Good Luck

    Smiley

    • dmiovan Says:

      bless your smiley soul! thank you. I look forward to discovering a new song every nine days and I’m always surprised with what comes out. It’s great to hear that it’s enjoyed by others.

  4. jennybarbour Says:

    hey d 🙂
    i agree you did a great job with vocals and though not an all time knock down drag out fave beattles song i can say this has a companionable sound. a parkish walk sound, a bit carnivale and a bit sunday afternoon. so as with the others, brava for a uniquely iovan spin. 🙂 missed you over my holidays but back now! o’s


Leave a Reply

