Rocky Raccoon

January 5, 2010

Well, it’s after midnight and Jim just finished the mix on this one. I have to admit that this is not one of my favorite songs and I felt mostly uninspired to record it. However, like Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da, I ended up having fun once I got down to recording it. The guitar was kind of a pain because it’s the same pattern of chords, over and over, relentlessly digging into my pinky finger, holding down that high G. I think I did 16 takes last night and I kept messing up so I waited until this morning to re-record it, give my pinky time to rest. I bought a new harmonica today so I could play it on the song. I’ve had harmonicas in my possession for years but I only pull them out once in a while and never seriously taught myself how to play. I gave one of them to my dad a few months ago. He doesn’t remember that he has it in his drawer, but when I visit, I try to remember to pull it out because he seems to really get a kick out of blowing into it. It’s like an effortless instrument in one sense, if you don’t care what comes out – perfect for someone that’s always wanted to play an instrument and never learned how.

Rocky Raccoon is rather corny, especially Sir Paul’s country drawl. I’m not much of a vocal flourisher, so I left the “come on Rocky boy”s out of the mix. I added hand claps because I think they make everything sound better. Oh! and the honky tonk piano was played on a different Casio this time, one that actually has a button for “Honky Tonk Piano” and it cost me $1.81 plus tax at Value Village many moons ago. I think it sounds pretty great considering its cheap plasticity. I can’t play piano like George Martin anyway.

The first song of the new year is lucky number 13! (only 27 more to go – oops! I mean 17. It just feels like 27) Enjoy!

9 Responses to “Rocky Raccoon”

  1. Brian Hobbs Says:

    I really like this one Deanne. Nice job!

  2. Don Bistarkey Says:

    I stayed up way too late reading your blog last night…great stuff, the songs and the stories. We started our own project about the same time you started yours, her name is Angela Rose b. 9/2/09…that said, I have finally had the time to steal a few minutes to listen…sang Rocky w/ my son today…funnier coming from a toddler dressed in a dragon costume, I gotta tell ya. šŸ˜‰ Keep up the great work!! The Beatles had a huge early impact on me as well, so your discovery/rediscovery of these tunes really hits home. Thank you for sharing & best wishes for a happy & healthy New Year. -D

    • dmiovan Says:

      Thanks Don! Congratulations on your little “project”. What a coincidence, I was wearing a dragon costume when I recorded the song! Happy New Year

  3. lisa nagy Says:

    lovely way to bring in 2010 D. just lovely. happy new year!

  4. King Elessar 8 Says:

    I agree with you about this song – in fact it’s easily in my bottom two or three as far as “White Album” songs go. The combination of numbingly repetitive guitar, rinky dink melody and unfinshed lyrical structure always made it feel like a McCartney throwaway to me. I actually think I like the general idea of your arrangement better than the original. Nice work.

  5. Overhype Says:

    I’ve been checking your site for several weeks now. I haven’t posted so far, but thought I’d post a quick note…

    You’re doing a great job, and I have been looking forward to hearing your versions of some of my favorite White Album songs.

    On Rocky Racoon, I particularly like how you added some overdubbed vocal parts for the parts that were sung (as opposed to spoken).

    Keep up the great work, and I look forward to hearing more!

    Bob

  6. Jim Warner Says:

    Deanne, listening to all your tracks is a bit like discovering we have a mutual old friend. I would never get choked-up talking about the White Album with someone. And any one of these tracks alone would be nice… But this project is somehow transcending. It’s surprising how many times I got emotional hearing you play these parts that I was so intimate with as a kid… like the distorted guitar stabs in Happiness Is…, the piano part in Martha My Dear… All the bits and pieces of the whole album, very touching. You are courageous. I’m glad to hear all this music again, from your perspective. Peace & Love- JW

  7. jennybarbour Says:

    hey diane,

    i am getting to this one late late having been much away and immersed in mom’s world. what i like about this song is everything about your voice. and the story of giving your dad a harmonica that is in his drawer but forgotten, yet ready enough for you to bring it out, even if it has to be a new gift every time.
    mom w/out dementia still has some lapses. sometimes she catches herself and sometimes not. we are all calm about it.
    thanks for doing this project here where ‘we’ can be included. in one way it makes the time more slowly go. in another sense, it still flies. o’s! jb

  8. David McKay Says:

    Loved this one.
    Great performance.
    Look forward to the next ones.


Leave a Reply

