Piggies

December 27, 2009

Well, Christmas is finally over and next year, next week, a new decade begins. For New Year’s eve last year I actually made a resolution to “consume less”.  That pretty much covers everything I eat, drink and buy. It was an idea that I was able to carry with me throughout the year, non-specific enough to not fail yet all-encompassing enough to make a difference in my daily life. I don’t know that I succeeded the way I had hoped, but I think I’m on a good path. Christmas is the perfect time of year to think about all that we consume and if we need all the stuff we buy. I was hoping that the one good outcome of this economic disaster we’ve experienced in 2009 would be that we would all learn to live more simply. However, I went out shopping for my mother-in-law (she’s the only one I shop for) two days before Christmas and the parking lots were full and the roads were crowded and you would never think that Michigan’s unemployment rate is over 14%. I know we need to make and sell and buy stuff to keep the economy strong, but honestly, I think we’re just going to bury ourselves underneath all this stuff.

Piggies is a statement on corporate greed and it’s a funny song, if not a little silly. It’s easy to shake a finger at all these bankers that give each other huge bonuses after taking government money. But I wonder what any of us would do if we were in their position. I see greed everyday in small doses, from people I know, people I don’t know, myself. I see it in people I’ve worked for and people I’ve worked side by side with. It’s easy to justify when it’s effect seems small. And Christmas isn’t just a time for giving; somebody’s got to be on the receiving end. I’m going to make the same new year’s resolution again this year and hope I do better. I think 2010 will be a good year.

9 Responses to “Piggies”


  1. Deanne, I just love listening and reading and listening and reading. Your poor fingers! Hope they have healed by now and that playing “Piggies” was not as painful.
    Keep up the good work – you have such a easy-to-listen-to voice. Love!!

  2. Timmy Says:

    Were all piggies! Just like George Carlins {“Stuff”}. We have way to much.Great job Sis. We all need to challenge ourselves to be better stewards with what God has given us. Your a great example. Love You! Oink! Oink!

  3. Jawbone Says:

    great arrangement. quite a trip on headphones. every time i hear a harpsichord i picture Lurch from the Addams Family, playing and smirking knowingly. so thanks for that, too.

  4. judy Says:

    Always loved that song….great job….particularly always love your written words. Touchee’

  5. King Elessar 8 Says:

    Nice work. I was afraid for a second we were’t going to get the pig grunts at the end, but you didn’t disappoint.

  6. susie Says:

    Such a fun song to listen to. You did a great job, just like all of them. I really enjoy listening to your songs. Hopefully 2010 will be a better year. Happy New Year to you and Jim 🙂
    xoxo
    Susie

  7. Lauren Says:

    Deanne, Just got on and listened. Impressive, to say the least. We at 23 PP are digging this.

  8. Roger Green Says:

    I think the current Bank of America/AIG stuff made this song even more relevant.


Leave a Reply

