I’m So Tired

December 9, 2009

The first snow of the season is blowing past my window and covering the streets and sidewalks. It’s always so pretty when it first starts to snow. It’s so quiet now. Tomorrow we’ll be driving in it and dirtying it up with our car exhaust. When I finish this project next year, it will be the middle of summer here in Michigan. My niece asked me how I plan to avoid getting bored in the coming months recording these songs. For me, the process is becoming habit and I look forward to working on a new song every nine days. The only time it’s difficult is when I don’t feel well.

I enjoyed working on I’m So Tired, mostly because I felt so much better than I did last week. Last week I really was SO TIRED because it was impossible to sleep, because it was impossible to breathe! I don’t usually have trouble with insomnia. I love sleeping. I was proud of myself, figuring out all the chords on the guitar, until I played it for Jim and he kindly corrected me on a few notes. So, I’m starting to learn some cool ways to make noise with this instrument. I’m also liking the guitar, (surprise!) at least the recording part of it. I have to admit that it’s been fun to turn up the amplifier and get a crunchy, ugly sound out of the strings. I guess that’s what I’ve been missing all these years…I had to put the “egg” on this song too. The egg is right up there with whistling for me. I take every opportunity to put it in a song. Next week – Blackbird. I can’t wait!

7 Responses to “I’m So Tired”

  1. halloweenjack Says:

    That’s some nice egg shaking.

  2. LInda S. Says:

    Wow you’ve got the good memory……I was out on a date with X, and you home eating roast beef, that sad night. I also thought about what was going on that day.

    I liked this last ditty; it sounded a little more upbeat-lighter than the original. I think it was the guitar sound.

  3. Bob Says:

    you are the egg-woman! good goo-goo-ga-job!

  4. Margie Says:

    I think this is my favorite so far. I really like your voice over that electric. I like the dichotomy of the gentle smoothness of your vocals over the electric. Definitely a favorite.

  5. kris Says:

    you need to experiment more. try to make the songs your own.

    • dmiovan Says:

      When I post Piggies today, you might hear something along those lines. However, I started this project for several reasons, not the least of which being that I wanted to improve my playing skills and my ear. I don’t want to reinvent these songs. Sometimes I make substitutions out of necessity, like playing the Casio in lieu of horns on Ob-Bla-Di, Ob-Bla-Da because I don’t play a horn. Sometimes for fun, I whistle. Fact is, I can’t please anyone but myself. Thanks for sharing your opinion. I wish more people would post their thoughts, good or bad.

  6. David McKay Says:

    Cheated again and listened to two songs tonight.

    You’re brave doing this project and you have done it well.

    When I got a copy of The Beatles double album in 1968, I was excited to play it on an actual stereo record player.

    I was in Fourth Form [or Year Ten] in high school.

    But our record player jumped on a couple of tracks. I think there was a jump on Birthday and also on Revolution.

    And the old mono record player had a much bigger and fuller sounding speaker.

    And the cat pulled at the speaker cord and we were one channel only for a while.

    Looking forward to Blackbird.


Leave a Reply

