While My Guitar Gently Weeps

November 13, 2009

I have a confession to make. While My Guitar Gently Weeps has never been a favorite of mine. Listening to the White Album when I was younger, I always fast forwarded the cassette tape when this song came on. I never really thought about it much either. If the song came on the radio I would change the station. It just bugged me. When I got older, I read somewhere that Eric Clapton played guitar on this song. I remember being confused. Why would George Harrison have some other guitar player play on his song? Then I thought, well, they were probably friends, and friends play on friends records.

Fast forward many years later, I am listening to a remastered cd version of the White Album on a road trip. While My Guitar Gently Weeps comes on. At that moment, I realize that it’s quite possibly THE GREATEST SONG that The Beatles have ever written. And as I’m suffering through the obnoxious guitar solo, I also realize that I never liked this song before because I can’t stand Eric Clapton. I never gave this song a listen because the only thing my young ears could hear was this ridiculous guitar solo trouncing all over it.

So, I feel like I should apologize to George Harrison for not realizing sooner how great his song is. I loved playing and recording it. I love singing it. The chords are lovely. It’s a perfect song. (Don’t worry, friends. I’m not going to start hitting the Ferndale coffee house circuit.) I realize that it’s going to be difficult for some people to hear the song without Eric Clapton’s guitar noodling. I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings. I know Eric Clapton has many fans. It’s just a matter of preference. I wish George Harrison would have asked Eddie Hazel to play on the song instead, but they probably didn’t know each other. I tried to channel a little Maggot Brain into this song. It’s the weepiest guitar I could think of. Go ahead, try not to cry.

8 Responses to “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”

  1. halloweenjack Says:

    This is beautiful. I think it’s your best recording so far.

  2. jennybarbour Says:

    this has been one of my favorite songs for a long time. only recently did i find that the guitar was eric clapton. ironic how few knew (me and you!)
    this song always spoke to me. i grew up in a home where love was called weakness and ill, and spiteful hostility called strength, and health.
    i was lost so much of the time and this song witnessed me for me.
    you have done lovely for it, weeping guitar all the more, i had to get up and dance, replaying and dancing more. a freedom dance, a memory healing, and happy birthday to my loving mom. suck a moment… thanks so…

  3. Mary St. Says:

    You have a great voice D. Why not the ferndale coffee club circuit? I enjoyed this very much.

  4. Tal Says:

    This is getting better and better!

  5. Andy Henry Says:

    Very nicely done, especially the guitar. It is a beautiful song, and Clapton does suck.

    One of my favorite uses for this was that Dangermouse project, “The Grey Album,” where he took Jay-Z’s “Black Album,” and mixed it with sampling from the White Album. Have you heard it? The “While My Guitar…” track (the title escapes me at the moment) is a jam and a half.

    Keep this stuff coming.

  6. Andy Henry Says:

    Not sure what’s happening to my brain function. The Jay-Z track in question is “What More Can I Say.”

  7. David McKay Says:

    Nice job, but I love the Clapton guitfiddle thingy.


Leave a Reply

