The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill

November 3, 2009

My mom gave birth to 8 kids, 6 boys and 2 girls. I like to joke that our family is divided into “hunters” and “gatherers”. For some reason, 3 of my brothers love to hunt and my sister has a hunting husband and hunting sons. I know they didn’t get any ideas from my dad. He liked his t-bone steak, but I don’t think he ever would have killed an animal. He was a Marine during WW2, but I would venture a guess that he never shot anybody. He did tell me a story – several times – about being on the beach on Iwo Jima and assisting two of his officers with ammunition while they shot at Japanese soldiers hiding in the mountains. Both officers got a sniper shot to the head while fighting right next to my dad. I think he had extreme survivor’s guilt all his life.

I’m a big fan of knowing where my food comes from. It’s not always easy or possible, but the more I learn about food, the more I realize how important it is to have a connection to what you eat. That means not buying processed food or McDonald’s. I stopped eating red meat a few years ago and poultry not long after that. I sometimes eat fish, but I have no problem putting a worm on a hook, catching a fish and cooking it either. I think if you can kill something, you should be able to eat it, or rather, if you eat meat, you should be willing and able to kill it yourself. That said, I haven’t fished in years and I rarely eat fish because of all the environmental issues associated (see: The World is Blue, by Sylvia Earle).

I think Bungalow Bill hunts for sport, though. Why else would he be “tiger hunting”? By the way, tiger hunting? Anyone that would even consider hunting a tiger can die a long and painful death, as far as I’m concerned. I know that the Iovan “hunters” eat the animals that they kill, but they really do hunt for sport more than anything. It’s not as though they’re survivalist and they live that way on paranoid principle. They have very comfortable lives and could afford to buy meat and vegetables from a local organic farmer. I can’t see the sport in facing a defenseless animal with a gun either. Can anyone enlighten me? I heard a story about a guy that has a business that provides dogs to chase a bear up a tree so you can shoot it. ?

Ok, enough proselytizing. I didn’t play bass on this song because my bass sounded bad. Actually, Jim’s bass sounded bad when I played it. I was limited on time too because Jim had so much work to do at home this week. I hardly had time to record. I practiced and practiced the guitar while I watched the World Series (go Phillies!) but I still struggled on the recording. Please forgive me. It’s a bit sloppy. Thanks again for listening.


10 Responses to “The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill”

  1. Tal Says:

    A full on vegan myself, I just LOVE this post! It took me years to become “pure”, but it all started just as you describe here. Excellent!

  2. Nick siewert Says:

    Some of the hunters you talk about don’t use a gun, which in my opinion makes a huge difference. So while a gun hunter can shoot an animal as you refer to it, defenlessly across a field. A bow hunter must wait for the deer to come to with in fifty yards or closer. At which distance the animal is almost at even odds with the hunter. And while your right none of us hunt to feed ourselves. The huge amounts of food avaliable and the decline of wolf and large cats has caused the deer population to swell to an unhealthy number. In fact if more hunted we would hit less deer on highways and there wouldn’t be a need for culls near citys. The balance of the ecosystem has been disrupted and so I don’t think we should be hunting black bear, dear need to be held in check.

    • dmiovan Says:

      Well, could it be that the decline in predator population is due to our encroachment on their habitat? Even the deer have less space to roam and eat and have to cross roads to look for food because we keep pushing them out of fields and forests to build giant homes and golf courses. As far as a bow and arrow goes, you can shoot one at a deer and it can suffer for a long time before you catch it, especially if you’re not a good shot. And it’s not a challenge as long as the deer doesn’t have a bow and arrow to shoot back at you! Your life isn’t on the line.

  3. kelley Says:

    pat and mike turned me on to this — truly fab! its grey in san francisco today and this is lighting up the room…

  4. lisa nagy Says:

    D-
    You are a true rock star. Hopefully you’ll decide to put these all on a cd and sell it when you’re done with your project.
    I would buy it and I’m sure a bazillion other people would too.
    You are gifted, and your voice lifts my heart. Thank you

  5. Christi Says:

    Proud to be your cousin, Sweetie. What a great and fun project. Something to cheer me up! Love, C.

  6. Susie Says:

    This is great D!
    I’m glad I married a…………..gatherer, and not a hunter! Comical how your sister is married to a hunter named Bill and has a son Bill too – lol

  7. Assausabymn Says:

    Wow enjoyed reading this post. I submitted your rss to my google reader.

  8. David McKay Says:

    A fun performance


Leave a Reply

