Wild Honey Pie

October 25, 2009

Too much reverb in the wrong hands can be a dangerous thing. I don’t belong in the control room. One of the rules I made for myself, upon embarking on this project, was that I couldn’t read up on the song I was working on. I want to approach each song with my own personal experience. Wild Honey Pie was an exception. Playing the White Album on vinyl most of my life, I never realized that the spanish guitar bit was an outro to Wild Honey Pie, not an intro to The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill, until I listened to it on my Ipod. So I looked it up. I read about Paul playing around in the control room while everyone else was off doing something else (that describes the antics I’ve been up to this past week). I also learned that Wild Honey Pie wasn’t even supposed to be on the record. It’s not much of a song, but it’s a weird way to blot out the sugary-ness of Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da. I always thought it was a John Lennon song too! Oh, Wikipedia. What would we do without you?

What I do not make an exception for is the other rule I have about not learning a song until it’s time, only having 9 days to figure out each one. Sure, I listen to the music and sing along like I always have, getting ideas for future arrangements. But, I never sit down and learn the song on an instrument. No skipping ahead! My husband has been out of town all week and I knew I was going to have to put on my engineering cap and take careful instruction over the phone to put fairy dust on the mix. It’s not a masterpiece. The Spanish guitar part has been modified to match my ability, or lack thereof. Some of the guitar I played on the song sounded so wrong to me, I just embellished it with my trusty Casio SK-1. I don’t know how I lived before I discovered that piece of plastic machinery.

Enjoy!

8 Responses to “Wild Honey Pie”

  1. halloweenjack Says:

    What a strange little song. It’s a bit more listenable then I remeber it being.

  2. Uncle Timmy Says:

    LOVE IT!!! I remember every song like it was yesterday. Great Job DEE DEE, LOVE U TIMMY

  3. Lollypop Says:

    That is so crazy that that song was made by Paul playing around in the control room, I never would have guessed.

  4. beth Says:

    You are awesome!

  5. David McKay Says:

    I’m back again. Been off to see my new granddaughter and celebrate my Aunty’s centenary.

    Now hope to continue listening to a track a day.

    You had a harder job than Paul did for the Spanish bit. He merely pushed a button on a mellotron, which played back that prerecorded sample!


Leave a Reply

