One Down, 29 to go.

September 18, 2009

Here is the premier offering from my White Album project. The first song on the record is Back in The USSR. I finished tonight and I’m glad it’s recorded and over with. Now I can listen to Dear Prudence 200 times in the next nine days. My husband helped me record the drums, (thank you! XX) setting up mics and pressing the button on the computer a half dozen times. I can say for sure that I’m more than a little rusty-crusty and the song sounds a lot like Karaoke to me. But, Back in The USSR is like a Little Richard song. I love Little Richard but I don’t sing like him. I had trouble with the bridge and the backing vocals, so I skipped the low part. I wasn’t trying to reinvent the song but I was limited by my own limitations. I’m hoping that as the project progresses, I’ll be able to hear myself play better, be more creative with my performance. It’s keeping me off the couch anyway!  My friend Ann told me that Beck is recording an album a day with assorted friends and musicians. He’s blogging about it too. I haven’t heard any of it, but he hardly ever disappoints me. I wonder if he saw Julie and Julia too…

13 Responses to “One Down, 29 to go.”

  1. halloweenjack Says:

    Nice job! It sounds likes you had a lot of fun putting this together. I think you nailed the spirit of the song. I don’t think I’ve ever heard you play guitar like that – I like it!

    • dmiovan Says:

      It wasn’t easy. The strings were burning my fingers by the end of the night. I could hardly type enough to blog about it. The rhythm guitar track wasn’t what I wanted it to be, so I told Jim to make it sound ugly in the mix. I broke the g string and Sampson was attacking it while I was trying to finish. I also had to throw in a few games of fetch in between takes. This is a really fun song. While I listened to it on my ipod, it made me dance around the house, for sure. But it is very corny. That’s why I left the airplane noise off the recording. I just want to see if I can hold these songs up to their greatness without all the bells & whistles. Although, I do like to whistle…

  2. Kristen Says:

    Sounds like a professionally mastered mix Deanne…LOVE the vocals, well done. Can’t wait for Dear Prudence which is one of my fav’s!!!

    • dmiovan Says:

      Well, it was professionally mixed and mastered by the professional engineer that I live with. Not by me. That’s the only thing I didn’t do. I have to take responsibility for all the other crap unprofessional sounding stuff.


  3. Love the good old Rock n’ Roll! Look forward to the rest.

  4. Lisa Says:

    You rocked it. Very interesting project…looking forward to hearing them all.
    xo

  5. jennybarbour Says:

    🙂 doomed to be an alto in gradeschool (and the keys i control start my car) i adored hearing your voice here. you even made me sing, poor you!

    i have no single or collection of anything, as pretty as your voice. 🙂 nice to know you! o’s

  6. terry Says:

    really good!

  7. Vicki Says:

    I stumbled on your blog -listened to Back in the USSR — I loved it! I have never heard a female version — You Rock!! Would love to hear the rest when you are done. Keep up the goood work!


  8. Brian Ibbott from Coverville.com mentioned you on his website. I love this idea and recommended it to another Beatles fan.

  9. David McKay Says:

    Just stumbled across this.
    Well done.
    Interesting project.
    Hope to listen to a track a day over the next 29 days in which I have access to a computer. Can’t wait for Rev 9…


Leave a Reply

